Employee Recognition Programs

Throughout the year, NC State employees are recognized for achievements, accomplishments, and service.

Pride of the Wolfpack Awardpwa_logo

The Pride of the Wolfpack Award recognizes individual employees for a special or unique contribution to thier college, business unit, or NC State University. Through the generous sponsorship of the NC State Bookstore, recipients will receive a framed certificate and lapel pin exclusive to Pride of the Wolfpack Recipients. For more information on this program, visit go.ncsu.edu/POTW.

Service Awards Program

The Human Resources (HR) Benefits department administers the Service Awards Program. Our staff fulfill a vital role in the teaching of the brightest students, attracting and retaining outstanding faculty and staff and leading the way with ground-breaking research. NC State values the importance of recognizing the contributions and commitment of its community. This program is designed to provide recognition to employees for their years of service and commitment to the university and the State of North Carolina. For more information on this program visit https://benefits.hr.ncsu.edu/service-awards-program/

Staff Retirement Recognition Program

NC State Retirement Rocking ChairStaff and faculty who retire after having worked for at least the last twenty years at NC State University receive a marvelous retirement acknowledgement from the University: an engraved captains’ chair OR rocking chair with the University’s seal.

Who is Eligible?

Staff and faculty who have served for at least the last 20 consecutive years in a benefits-eligible position at NC State University prior to their retirement are eligible.

How do I Order & Receive My Chair?

  • The Retirement Chair order form is provided by the NCSU Benefits office and is submitted at the time same the retirement paperwork is turned in to the Benefits Consultant. You will have your choice of a rocking chair or captain’s chair.
  • Chair orders are processed in the actual month of retirement and are shipped directly to the address provided by the retiree.

Retirement Certificates

As a token of appreciation, departments may wish to present a retiring employee with a certificate signed by the Governor of North Carolina and NC State Chancellor. To be eligible, retiring university staff and faculty must have at least 10 years of state service. Retirement certificates are automatically ordered by the HR-Benefits Office each month for retiring employees. Please contact the Benefits Office at: 919-515-2151 if you have questions.

University Awards for Excellence

The University Awards for Excellence program is designed to reward the accomplishments and achievements of permanent NC State employees.

Across the NC State campus, up to 50 employees (32 SHRA and 18 non-faculty EHRA) are selected as college/unit awardees. These awardees are then submitted to a University Award for Excellence selection committee to determine twelve University-level winners.. As a reward, winners of college/ unit awards are granted 8 hours of time off and a $250 cash award provided by the college/unit. University-level winners are granted an additional 8 hours of time off and a $1,000 cash award provided by the University.

Click here for more details about the University Awards for Excellence program.

John R. Larkins Award

The John R. Larkins Award is presented each year to a North Carolina state government employee who best exemplifies the deeds of John R. Larkins in human and race relations in the workplace and community. The award recognizes state government employees who are committed to equality for all, are dedicated to serving North Carolina citizens, and promote social responsibility in racial and ethnic relations.

Nominees must be permanent North Carolina state government employees with a minimum of 2 years of service. A panel selected by the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Observance Committee will judge each entry. The John R. Larkins Award recipient will be announced at the annual State Employees’ Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Observance Program and John R. Larkins Award Ceremony.

To learn more about this honor, visit https://benefits.hr.ncsu.edu/the-john-r-larkins-award-for-distinguished-human-service/